One or two…or sixty…pounds

Since high school, my weight has been a yo-yo. Down 10, up 20, down 15, up 10. I’ve tried everything. Fad diets. Crazy exercise routines. They’d always end when I’d find myself inhaling a box of Oreos and hating myself.

I blame my love to cook. And to be perfectly honest, my love of chocolate. And beer. And any other food imaginable. But last July, I started to realize how my health was declining. It was my birthday and I wanted to spend it lounging in sweats and binge-watching Netflix. That couldn’t be healthy, could it? I started to worry. As much as I tried to ignore the issue, I was significantly overweight. I didn’t have any energy. All I did was eat or drink. None of my clothes fit. I avoided mirrors for fear of what I’d see popping over the sides of my jeans. It was time for a change.

That was when I decided to go on Weight Watchers. Some coworkers of mine had tried it and I only heard great things. “It was so easy!” “It doesn’t feel like a diet!” “It’s changed my life!” I decided to sign up. I was actually excited about losing weight!

Until I realized I had to weigh myself.

I was more than 60 pounds overweight.

That couldn’t be right. I stepped off the scale and back on. Sixty Pounds. I had to lose sixty pounds. That was just enough to make me want to crawl back into a container of Ben & Jerry’s Phish Food. Which I did…for the next two weeks.

It was around that time my fiancé jumped on board. We were both going to change our lives. We started going to the gym, but more importantly, I began to look up recipes. If I couldn’t enjoy food, I wasn’t interested. I was skeptical. But what amazed me was how much I enjoyed making unhealthy dishes healthy.

I was making the food I’d always loved but finding creative ways to squeeze it into my daily points allowance. Slowly but surely the weight was coming off. My food choices became easier. I found a way to make pizza without dipping into my weekly points. Fish taco Friday now occurs weekly. I was feeling healthy and had energy. These past few months on Weight Watchers, I’ve learned how to love food and myself.

Time to start hunting for recipes to help me lose my last 30 pounds.

Leave a Reply

