I cheated on Valentine’s Day…but it’s okay!

I used to have an all or nothing mentality. If I ruined my diet, the day may as well be over. I would have to begin again the next morning. Or on Monday. Or the first of the month. Maybe I’d even wait until January 1st. New year, new me, after all. What a better time to start over!

That way of thinking was holding me back. How could I ever lose weight if I gave up every time I struggled? I didn’t quit my job every time I made a mistake or get a new boyfriend every time I started a fight. So why should my health be any different?

The thing I truly love about Weight Watchers is that I can cheat without feeling like I need a fresh start. Thanks to the weekly points, I can splurge if I really want to. Having cake at my nephews birthday? Sure. Drinks with some friends after work? Absolutely. I don’t need to trim down my social life along with my waist.

It may sound like I love to cheat, but that’s not entirely true. I rarely use my weekly points but if I do, it’s typically for alcohol – sorry, not sorry! When I am going to splurge on a meal, I eat healthier and squeeze in an extra workout.

Which is how I ended up with this delicious Valentine’s dinner my fiancé cooked for me:

Filet Mignon, asparagus, and summer salad

Filet Mignon, Asparagus, and Summer Salad

I don’t know if it had to do with the meal itself or the fact I got to stand around and drink wine while watching Kevin slave over the food. Either way, it was exactly what I wanted. And the chocolate covered strawberries at the end were the perfect complement. I didn’t hate myself. I didn’t even feel like I was being unhealthy. And the next morning, me and my wine hangover fell out of bed at 8 AM and kicked it at the gym.

Leave a Reply

