Spinach and Cheese Quiche

I get weird cravings. So last night, even though I haven’t eaten a quiche in years, I decided I wanted to make one for dinner tonight. Our original plan for the night was fish tacos. Thankfully, after 4 years, Kevin has gotten used to my constant mood for food changes and answered, “Sure babe, quiche sounds good!”

Deciding I wanted a quiche was odd but easy. Figuring out how to make it healthy was another story. The only quiche I’d ever made was loaded with cheese and I can honestly say the only thing healthy about it was that I probably got all the servings of dairy I needed that day.

After perusing the internet, I remembered (OK – Kevin reminded me) I bought myself the below cook book about a month back. Best money ever spent.

Weight Watchers Cook Book

Weight Watchers Cook Book

In there I found a recipe for a Spinach and Cheese Quiche (Serves 8, one serving = 5 weight watchers plus points).

Ingredients: 

1 refrigerated pie crust

1 (12 oz) can evaporated fat-free milk

1/3 cup low fat (1%) cottage cheese

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

2 large eggs

3 large egg whites

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1 (10 oz) package frozen, chopped spinach, thawed and dried

We went grocery shopping this morning and wound up buying fat-free cottage cheese and reduced fat Parmesan cheese just to make it a little healthier. In recipes like this, fat-free, 1% and full fat ingredients all taste the same. Maybe I’m weird.

Directions: 

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

2. Line dough with sheet of foil and fill with dried beans or rice. Bake 10 minutes. Remove foil with beans, bake until crust is golden, 5-10 minutes longer. Set aside on wire rack.

3. Whisk together evaporated milk, cottage cheese, Parmesan, eggs, egg whites, salt, and pepper in a medium bowl until combined. Spread spinach evenly over bottom of pie shell; pour cheese mixture over.

4. Bake quiche 15 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees.  Bake until knife inserted into center comes out clean, about 20 minutes longer. Cut into 8 wedges and serve hot, warm, or at room temperature.

My thoughts on the directions: I skipped the 2nd step. I also needed to cook the egg mixture longer than 20 minutes (and then wound up cooking it a few minutes too long). The finished product was slightly burnt on one side, but delicious either way!

My slice of Spinach and Cheese Quiche

My slice of Spinach and Cheese Quiche

Burnt a little in the back but still delicious

Burnt a little in the back but still delicious

Spinach and Cheese Quiche

I don’t really know why I haven’t been making  eating quiche all these years. Once the leftovers are gone, I am going to come up with my own recipe (I have a second pie crust to get rid of). Hopefully, I will be blogging about that one soon!

One thought on “Spinach and Cheese Quiche

Leave a Reply

