Baked Frittata?

Eggs. I’m almost ashamed at how many eggs I have gone through in the past week. You would think it’s the only thing I’ve eaten judging by how quickly I am going through them.

Typically the way I eat eggs is a little boring. It’s either scrambled or over-easy. I did mix it up a few weeks ago and cooked/tried an omelet for the first time. I loved it so much that I started feeling adventurous with my eggs. First my omelet. Then quiche. Then last nights dinner.

I’m not exactly sure what this dinner was. It’s not really a baked frittata. I don’t want to call it a crust-less quiche (mainly because I’m making a quiche for dinner tonight). What I will call it though is delicious (Thanks Courtney for the idea!)

Baked Frittata/Crustless Quiche (4 servings = 4 points)

4 egg whites

1 egg

One red bell pepper

One yellow bell pepper

One green bell pepper

One onion

Handful of mushrooms

Large handful of fresh spinach

One baked potato

Handful of reduced fat Mexican shredded cheese

Two teaspoons olive oil

Salt and Pepper to taste

Basil to taste

Directions:

1. Cut up the bell peppers, onion, mushrooms, and spinach.

2. Saute the bell peppers, onion, and mushrooms in the olive oil until softened and starting to brown. Add spinach when it is almost complete.

Vegetables in the Pan

Vegetables in the Pan

3. Cook potato in microwave until soft.

4. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

5. Meanwhile, whisk the egg whites and egg in a bowl. Add salt and pepper.

6. Put the cooked vegetables in a casserole dish. Cut up the baked potato and add to the vegetable mixture.

Potato and Vegetable Mixture

Potato and Vegetable Mixture

7. Add the egg mixture to the dish. Then top with shredded cheese and basil. Cook for 25-30 minutes. I wound up cooking a little longer as I am paranoid about uncooked eggs.

All Ready to Cook

All Ready to Cook

Ready to Eat.

Ready to Eat.

My Plate

My Plate

It was relatively simple to make, but let me tell you – it was yummy! I have no idea why I haven’t been cooking with eggs more often. I do know I have a ton of recipes to try to make up for lost time!

One thought on “Baked Frittata?

Leave a Reply

