Bunless Chicken Parmesan Burgers

I love the story of how Kevin and I met. We both went to a mutual friends party and hit it off. Trying to be smooth, Kevin suggested we head outside to talk. We wound up not talking too much, but before you get the wrong idea, let me explain. Kevin fell off the deck. As in on the ground. Granted, it was dark and the stairs to the deck were narrower then expected, but he still fell. I had to do my best not to burst into laughter and he jumped up like it was no big deal. I should have guessed then that our relationship would be a series of awkward moments and hilarity.

It’s now been four years, and despite all the countless hours spent talking about nearly everything, there are still things I don’t know about him. I only recently discovered that one of his favorite meals is Chicken Parmesan. I guess it really is true – you never stop learning about the person you are with.

My friend (Courtney, again) showed me this recipe on Yummly for Chicken Parmesan Burgers. I thought it was interesting but I’ve never been one for Chicken Parm so I wasn’t too sure if I’d like it or even want to make it. I happened to mention it to Kevin and that is how the whole conversation started.

It has been a hectic couple of weeks lately and unfortunately it seems more bad then good. I wanted to surprise Kevin and make him a meal he would (hopefully) love. He has definitely deserved one, so Chicken Parm Burgers it was.

Bun-less Chicken Parmesan Burger (4 servings = 8 WW points plus)

1 lb ground chicken

1/4 cup reduced fat Parmesan cheese

1/4 cup plain bread crumbs

2 teaspoons Italian seasoning

1/4 cup chopped flat leaf parsley

1 clove garlic, minced

1 shallot, finely diced

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

pasta sauce

mozzarella cheese

Directions:

1. Mix together the first 9 ingredients. Form into four patties. Refrigerate for thirty minutes.

2. Preheat broiler. Broil the burgers for 5-6 minutes. Flip. Broil for 4-5 minutes until cooked through.

3. Add the sauce and the mozzarella to the burgers. Broil for another minute or until the cheese is melted.

Bun-less Chicken Parmesan Burger

Bun-less Chicken Parmesan Burger

I wasn’t a fan of the burger the night I made it. It may be my fault. I wasn’t thinking and forgot to make any sides for the burger and within minutes I was STARVING. I was beginning to think I should just stay away from anything resembling Chicken Parm.

The leftovers changed my mind. I should give Chicken Parmesan another try, because I completely enjoyed this. I can’t imagine what I would think of the original version. Maybe I will soon try out the real recipe…

 

Leave a Reply

