Sweet Potato Chips

I’ve been on a sweet potato binge lately. Last night, I made another baked frittata with a sweet potato. (Which I won’t blog about because I swore off the egg recipes for a while!) So when I found this recipe for Sweet Potato Chips, I couldn’t resist. I even bought a mandoline for it.

 

Sweet Potato Chips (2 servings = 4 points plus)

1 sweet potato

1 teaspoon olive oil

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground pepper

Directions:

1. Cut off ends of the sweet potato and slice with a mandoline.

2. Mix the sweet potato, salt, pepper, and olive oil in a bowl.

3. Place in a microwave and cook until crispy, but not browned.

The few chips that weren't burned

The few chips that weren’t burned

I had a very serious problem with the last step. For some reason, it went right from soggy to burnt. It was so bad I even tried to bake them instead. Same result. The few chips that I was able to eat had a great taste. If I decide to give this another try, I think they will be great with a little brown sugar and cinnamon.

At least my failed attempt isn’t going to waste – Kevin really will eat anything!

Leave a Reply

