Breakfast in Bed

Over the past two weeks, I have tried quite a few recipes, however I haven’t felt inspired to write about them. I keep deleting all of the posts that I start. And by start, I mean I got as far as the title. So for now, I am giving up. I don’t want to force myself to find words just so I can meet a posting goal.

What I am feeling inspired about, however, is the breakfast I had yesterday:

unnamed

 

Yes, this is a Belgian Waffle. Yes, it has full sugar maple syrup poured all over it. Yes, that is powdered sugar on top. Yes, I ate the whole waffle. And yes, it was delicious.

Yesterday was Kevin and I’s anniversary. We decided to celebrate our last one before we get married by spending Saturday night at a hotel uptown. It was everything we needed. Instead of waking up and going to the gym, we ordered room service and ate breakfast in bed. Total relaxation!

Lately we have been busting our butts at the gym and being incredibly picky over what we eat. I honestly think I am the healthiest I have ever been regardless of the numbers on the scale.

But lately, I’ve started to get frustrated. I wake up tired. Have busy days at work. Do a tough workout at the gym. Come home. Cook and clean up just in time for bed. Repeat five days in a row.

Don’t get me wrong; I’m not complaining. I love it and I wouldn’t change a thing about how I’m spending my weeks. But I can feel it wearing on my body. I wasn’t sure how much longer I could continue the routine before my body decided it was overworked.

Sometimes I think the best thing you can do for your health is to know when to stop.

One of the greatest things I have learned these past few months is how to read my body. I had to learn the difference between pushing myself and overdoing it. For individual gym workouts, that’s easy. Learning when your body truly needs a break is another thing.

It’s always been the hardest part for me. I get addicted (and maybe a little obsessive) over working out and never give my body ample time to recoup. I would run myself ragged until I could not physically handle another workout. At that point, I would quit.

My body needed yesterday. As ridiculous as it sounds, I needed that waffle (and no that is not a justification). I feel rejuvenated. I am more motivated to hit the gym. I loved my “day off” but I am going to love my workout even more!

 

One thought on “Breakfast in Bed

  1. I love you, Samantha Armstrong. Keep blogging and I’ll keep reading. I’m getting to know you and I am liking what I learn. Welcome to the family! ❤

Leave a Reply

