Honey Mustard Pork Chops

Like most little kids, my nephews loved ketchup. My youngest nephew would eat a hot dog with “dip-dip.” Twenty minutes later, the ketchup would be gone and he hadn’t even taken a single bite of his hot dog. He had just dipped the same piece in the ketchup and then sucked it all off. As far as I’m aware, I was never that into ketchup.

Honey mustard on the other hand, I love. Thankfully, I got introduced to honey mustard after the age when it is socially acceptable to eat a condiment for dinner. That doesn’t mean I haven’t been tempted to lick it off of my fries over and over. I’m kidding…sort of.

But seriously, I do truly love honey mustard. On fries. Chicken fingers (DEFINITELY on chicken fingers). Salad. Pork chops. Wait, pork chops!? Yes.

My weight watchers cook book got brought out again last week. I was lacking inspiration and needed an idea for dinner. After all, I do have a goal to make a new recipe every two weeks and blog about it!  I found these and decided the pork chops I typically make needed a make over. This sounded so much better than pork chops in shake and bake.

Honey Mustard Pork Chops (serves 4, 4 points plus)

1/4 cup Dijon mustard

4 teaspoons honey

1 teaspoon cider or white vinegar

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

4 pork chops

Directions:

1. Mix together Dijon mustard, honey, vinegar, and black pepper.

2. Marinate the pork chops in the mixture.

3. Preheat broiler. Spray pan with Pam.

4. Place pork chops in oven and broil five inches from heat until cooked through, about 6 minutes per side.

An unappetizing picture of an amazing meal

An unappetizing picture of an amazing meal

Verdict: 

I probably wouldn’t call these honey mustard pork chops – the mustard flavor is a lot stronger than a typical honey mustard. That aside, these were delicious. We forgot to marinate the pork chops ahead of time so they only sat in the fridge for about thirty minutes. They were still good, but marinate longer if possible. These are definitely a must try for honey mustard lovers like myself!

Leave a Reply

