Vegetable (and some beef) Stir Fry

I am a creature of habit. Without a routine, I get stressed out and go a little crazy. My routine a year ago looked very different from my routine today. I used to go to work, eat out (or more frequently, get take out because I could come home and put sweats on sooner), and then watch television for the remainder of the night. So healthy…not! My weeks now are incredibly different but I still have a routine. Our meals are planned ahead, I know when I can fit in a work out, and typically our weekend plans are scheduled. With how busy we are (and OCD I am), I can’t deal with not having plans. Or even worse, the people who make plans last minute and expect it to work for everyone. Some may find it boring but I like the consistency of it.

It has been a little crazy for us since the beginning of March. Family came from out-of-town. We spent the weekend at a hotel uptown with room service. We’ve traveled out-of-town. And we have met up with friends for nice dinners. Unfortunately, we have at least two more crazy weekends ahead of us and they both involve at least one meal out. I enjoy the time spent with loved ones but I would do anything for a restaurant free week.

We were out-of-town this past weekend and by the time we got back home, I realized I was craving vegetables. Typically, I only get like this when I’ve been subsisting on a fast food diet and avoiding anything resembling vegetables. With how many vegetables I do eat, I was surprised at the craving but decided to go with it. Luckily, Kevin wanted something light as well.

Vegetable (and some Beef) Stir Fry

1 red bell pepper

1 yellow bell pepper

1 green bell pepper

1/2 onion

1 squash

1 zucchini

Large handful of mushrooms

Leftover broccoli and cauliflower

Packaged beef, cut into cubes

Olive oil

Lemon juice to taste

Rosemary to taste

Basil to taste

Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions: 

1. Cut up all the vegetables and sauté in olive oil, lemon juice, and spices. Cook until softened.

The point in which my pan was overflowing with vegetables.

The point where my pan was overflowing with vegetables.

2. Add meat and cook until done.

3. Eat.

The finished product.

The finished product.

Verdict: 

The worst part of this recipe is cutting everything up. After that, it is simple and delicious – definitely one of my favorite recipes to overdose on vegetables. So much better than the greasy food I got for take out!

Leave a Reply

