Barbecue Glazed Turkey Meatloaf

Let’s talk about meatloaf for a minute, shall we? I feel like everyone either loves it or hates it. For some reason, it isn’t a type of food that people can go either way on. Maybe it has to do with the name. There really is nothing appealing about a “loaf of meat”.

Growing up, I would have been classified as a meatloaf lover. I would go to my grandparents house once a week and after I had a piano lesson with my grandpa, I would cook dinner with my grandma.  Meatloaf was one of the recipes we would make and I don’t know if I truly thought it was delicious or if I just loved being over there.

After I traded in piano for my guitar, I stopped eating at my grandparents every week which meant no more meatloaf. I think I had it once a few years later and doused it in ketchup in order to get it down. There went my love for this food. I never thought I would voluntarily eat it again.

But when I started weight watchers, one of my coworkers gave me a weight watchers recipe for Barbecue Glazed Turkey Meatloaf and swore it was delicious. I decided to give the food one more chance and I am very glad I did.

Barbecue Glazed Turkey Meatloaf (6 servings=4 WW points plus)

1 1/4 pounds of uncooked ground turkey breast

1/3 cup dried plain breadcrumbs, seasoned

1/4 cup low fat shredded cheese

1/4 cup uncooked onions

1 large egg, lightly beaten

1 tsp dried oregano

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 black pepper

2 Tbsp ketchup

2 tsp packed light brown sugar

2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1 tsp spicy brown mustard

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking dish with tin foil.

2. Mix the turkey breast, bread crumbs, cheese, onion, egg, oregano, salt, and pepper in a bowl. Mix until combined. Shape into a loaf and put in dish with tin foil.

3. Combine the ketchup, sugar, Worcestershire, and mustard in a separate bowl. Use the mixture to cover top of meat loaf in order to create a glaze.

4. Place dish in oven and cook until done, around 45 minutes – 1 hour.

Meatloaf and roasted butternut squash

Meatloaf and roasted butternut squash

Verdict: 

This recipe was originally meant for the crock pot, but we altered it for the oven. The meat is moist and the glaze gives it a great flavor so you don’t need to smother it with ketchup. It isn’t a meal I could eat every week but Kevin has requested this recipe 4 times now so it is slowly being added to our rotation. Not too bad, even for a loaf of meat.

Leave a Reply

