Spice Rubbed Pork Chops

I seriously suck. I have had every intention of writing a post this past week (and a half), but then I would go home and get caught up in reading and forget my original game plan for the night. Between reading and travel, I honestly haven’t had the time to sit in front of a computer and type up any variation of a decent post. Here is a quick post to make up for my silence lately!

I promised a recipe for this post – and a recipe you will get. But first an update. I completed one of my fitness goals! This past weekend, I participated in a 5k! I did the Shape Diva Dash. It is a 5k with obstacles and, the best part, for women only. To be honest, I didn’t train as hard as I wanted, but I set a goal of 45 minutes and I completed it in 44. I am already signing up for a race in October. It’s called the Insane Inflatable 5k. Check it out here: http://insaneinflatable5k.com/

Climbing the Very Last Obstacle

Climbing the Very Last Obstacle

Finshed the Race

Finished the Race

On to a food post! I believe I mentioned that I bought a ton of pork chops from Costco a few weeks ago. If not, I apologize for another pork chop post but I need to get them out of my freezer. I have a tendency to eat and cook the same things. My goal with all the pork chops was to make each dinner differently and so far, I think I have achieved it. This recipe is definitely a repeater though! Thanks Weight Watchers for the recipe!

Spice Rubbed Pork Chops (serves 4 = 6 points plus)

1 1/2 Tbsp chili powder

1 Tbsp unpacked brown sugar

2 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp garlic powder

2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

4 pork chops

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to Broil.

2. Combine the first five ingredients in a bowl and mix into a paste. I had to add a little more Worcestershire.

3. Rub the mixture onto both sides of the pork chop. Place on a pan and broil for 4 minutes on each side until the center is no longer pink.

Verdict:

I feel like I say this every time I make a new pork chop recipe, but this one is my  new favorite. I was a little hesitant at first. Rubbing the mix on the pork chops was… well, lets just say it did not look appetizing. If you can get past how it looked while preparing, it was delicious and a must try!

The Unappetizing Way to Prepare the Pork Chops

The Unappetizing Way to Prepare the Pork Chops

The Delicious Finished Product

The Delicious Finished Product

Leave a Reply

