Three Things for Thursday

On the off chance you haven’t noticed, my posting lately has been sporadic. I blame a hectic schedule, travel, and the fact that I have been downright lazy. In an effort to get back on track with posting 1-2 times a week, I am going to start doing a post every Thursday: Three Things for Thursday.

In these posts, I will talk about three things. It can be food, exercise, weight watchers, or healthy tips. Anything goes. My hope is that this will keep me posting more frequently as well as sharing new things that I love. Currently I am stuck inside at the beach (more on that later) and thought it would be a good time to start the weekly posts. Here are my three things for Thursday!

1. Aylio Resistance Bands.

 

20140703-141640-51400279.jpg

If you have never tried them; try them. Basically, it’s a giant rubber band that you use to exercise. One of my coworkers brought them to work, so on a quiet Friday afternoon three of us walked the hallway with those on our legs. It just so happened that the hallway had a lot of foot traffic that day and we received more than our share of weird looks as we stumbled up the hallway. I will say, my hips and glutes were sore the next day! If you are looking for a way to mix up your workout, can’t get to the gym, or just want to have fun working out with friends, try these out! I’m going to order some on Amazon. Here are some cool exercises you can do:

http://www.aylio.com/resistance-band-exercises/

2. Running at the beach. Basically this is a touchy subject at the moment because I love running on the beach. It is one of the only times I can tolerate running without headphones and between the waves and the breeze, I find it very relaxing. Every year for my birthday, I head down to the beach and spend a long weekend. This year is no exception so I have taken my first day off work since December (I’m stockpiling PTO for the wedding) and have been looking forward to morning runs. I need to learn that nothing goes as I have planned. I am currently trapped in the condo with a tropical storm raging outside. I’m barely braving the weather for food yet alone running. All I’m saying is it better clear up by my birthday tomorrow!

3. Our Weight Loss Journey.This beach trip marks a year of healthy living for Kevin and I. Following my birthday last year, we joined weight watchers and changed our lifestyle. When I look at numbers, I wish I would have lost more weight than I did, but this year was about more than what I see on the scale. We learned how to eat. When people used to say that, I would laugh. Duh – fruit and vegetables are better than cake and cookies. How hard is it to figure that out? But learning how to eat, how to portion, how to tell the difference between hunger and boredom, and how to listen to when your body is telling you to ‘Stop!’ is a learning curve. It wasn’t something that came easily. Now that it has become habit, I don’t know how I ever lived without listening to my body. I can’t wait to see what the next year has in store for us.

So that’s all I have for this Thursday. I won’t be posting for the rest of the week – hopefully the weather will be clearing up and I’ll spend the rest of the weekend with my butt in the sand. I hope you all have a great fourth of July!

Leave a Reply

