A Little Break, A New Name, and Some Chili

The past few months I have felt restrained by this blog. Despite making an amazing recipe, I couldn’t post it because it wasn’t completely low-fat/low-carb/under a certain point value. I would delete the pictures I took and decide I would live to post another day. But then I would feel the need to write about stress or family or love and that didn’t seem to fit here either. Instead of allowing myself to write, I turned off the computer and put blogging out of my mind. I had a very singular idea of what this site would turn into and anything that didn’t fit the category was locked away, never to be thought of again.

Three weeks ago today, I married the love of my life and it has inspired me in ways I didn’t even imagine. Who says that Samantha Schneider is the same person Samantha Armstrong always was? Maybe Mrs. Schneider is more outspoken, daring, and free. I donated 9 inches of my hair. I am working on being a better woman to my husband, family and friends.  If it’s not too late for me to change, why can’t I extend the same philosophy to my blog? This is my site and just because it started out as food and fitness doesn’t mean it can’t evolve into something more. A healthy lifestyle is a huge part of my life but such a small part of who I am.

From this point forward, expect to see Head Over Meals change slightly. I will still give recipes and provide my ridiculous workout antics, but I will also talk about my life. I will show who I am through all my many flaws and graces. I will write about my wedding, my new journey as someone’s wife, about growing up and all the travel that I plan on doing this next year! It’s an entirely new beginning.

I will write more about my wedding eventually but for now, pictures will just have to do. For my first post on my “new” blog, I leave you with you these pictures and just because – a recipe from my fix it and forget it cookbook.

Pre Ceremony Dancing with My New Sister

Pre Ceremony Dancing with My New Sister

The Reception Site

The Reception Site

The First Dance

The First Dance

Maid of Honor

Maid of Honor

My People

My People

Two of the Cutest Nephews in the World

Two of the Cutest Nephews in the World

unnamed11

Handsome Guys

Handsome Guys

The Toasts

The Toasts

unnamed5

Pumpkin Black Bean Turkey Chili

1 cup chopped onions

1 cup chopped yellow bell pepper

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 Tbsp, oil

1 1/2 tsp. dried oregano

2 tsp ground cumin

2 tsp chili powder

2 15 oz cans black beans, rinsed

2 1/2 cups cooked turkey, chopped

16 oz can pumpkin

14 1/2 oz can diced tomatoes

3 cups chicken broth

Optional: sour cream and shredded cheese

Directions:

1. Saute onions, yellow pepper, and garlic in oil until soft.

2. Stir in oregano, cumin, and chili powder. Cook 1 minute.

3. Put mixture in crock pot and add remaining ingredients.

4. Cover. Cook on low 8 hours.

5. Scoop in bowl. Add sour cream and shredded cheese

Verdict:

DELICIOUS!

Spooning the Chili into Bowls

Bowl of Chili

Bowl of Chili

Leave a Reply

